This afternoon, I gave my first “Sight and Sound” presentation on the film Neighbors for the Practicum faculty. Being pulled onto this project as the Production Designer late on (not even a week ago), I have been working hard all week to really define the over all style, and more importantly the style of each of the three main characters.

I went back and forth, trying to decide which color each character was yellow and blue, and red! no. i dont want to accentuate the primaries..that tells nothing about my characters…..warm or cold? Bright or dark? ..should I mix compliments…should I not mess with compliments b/c thats not very defiant for the story?

So…yes. I didn’t know what to do. And then it clicked! “Hey Jen, you should use your recently learned knowledge from color strategies. I mean, you’re doing a color contrast project right now!” And on that note, I sat down, looked at the color contrast categories that we have studied in class from Itten. I thought about each one trying to place my characters in the appropriate contrast – with the conclusion that the best way to accentuate the differences of the characters is through saturation.

character breakdowns……food for thought

BOB – desaturated colors. Lots of pale colors, grays, aweful kakhi, mainly cotton fabrics. These colors and textures will stress that Bob’s character is very boring, dry, and dull.
Bob’s shape : square

KRISTI – highly saturated colors.  She will wear and surround herself with bright, obnoxious, unattractive colors and patterns. The design of her character will draw attention to the fact that, this lifestyle of aromatherapy, peace, balance and control is something that Kristi only images that she has, when she does not.
Krisit’s shape : circle

ZAK – evenly balanced saturation. Zak is never too much, nor too little. He has a good handle on life for his age, and his style shows it. He doesn’t conform to fashion trends, nor does he look like a homeless hippie. He enjoys the outdoors, and has a few quality items to support that hobby, such as hiking boots, and jackets. He wears a variety of textures, all very organic and warm. Patterns are nothing crazy but rather fresh and simple. Again, the colors he wears are very even toned, he will wear reds, oranges and greens but nothing too bright that screams “hey look at me” like Kristi would do.
Zak’s shape: free form

Now that I have completed my body of work which focuses on saturation, there are elements that I have learned I need to take into account when using saturation as a large design element for the film. The most important one being: Saturation is a contrast formed by the juxtaposition of light and dark values and their relative state. All and all, in the end the difference in saturation is going to be determined by placement and their relationship to each other.
